28 January 2009

Nature: Sun Structure

02 Sun Structure, originally uploaded by Image Editor.

The Sun is at the center of our solar system. Sun's structure consists of from inner to outer elements — core (nuclear fusion), radiative zone, convection zone, photosphere, chromosphere, and corona. Some of the Sun's features are sunspots (photosphere), solar flares, coronal loops, and prominences (chromosphere and corona).

The image is a composite made from three images from SOHO (ESA & NASA). Composite image is by Image Editor.

The image was created for a SciTechLab.com blog post on the Northern Lights.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain